Days 5, 6, and 7

So things kind of went off the rails a bit. I’m desperately trying to pull them back together, but it feels like my mind is fighting me on this one, I haven’t achieved that “mind-body harmony” that people talk about.

I should probably have known to be more careful, I was not great psychologically, and then on Day 5 I made the terrible decision to go grocery shopping in not only a not-so-great mental state, but when I was hungry, meaning I bought loads of snacks, and pretty much the story of my weekend is that I snacked badly, and felt a bit like shit. It was a “one of those days” kind of experience that I let go on for more than a day…

I don’t want to go into too much detail, because I don’t want to focus on it, I had a good dinner today (Day 7) and I’m hoping that maybe I just need some sleep to shake it off. I have yoghurt and cereal and fruit for tomorrow’s breakfast, so hopefully my day can start off okay.

Attaching this to remind myself of just how delicious fruit and yoghurt and cereal looks:

IMG_0054

In terms of exercise, I didn’t *totally* fall down. Days 5 and 7 I went swimming, but because of my poor diet choices I just felt tired and drained, and definitely wasn’t at my best. I don’t even know what my workout was on Day 5, I just sort of swam randomly until my swimming buddy said “let’s go to the other pool”. The Guelph athletic centre has two pools, a big lane-swimming one, and a smaller pool that we just sort of use for messing about and cooling down after we swim, and it was such a relief when he said that.

Day 7, today, was a bit better, I remember my set at least:

400m free full

400m free kick

400m free pull

50m dolphin kick with flippers

50m one-arm fly with flippers (butterfly, but alternate one arm, then the other, than both. Like a weird hybrid of butterfly and freestyle).

50m fly full with flippers

Then when we got to the other pool (the “red pool”) we decided to get out those flotation belt things and try walking/running in the deep end. That’s honestly the best way I can describe that…

Day 6, I did nothing active. I didn’t get out of bed until 3, didn’t eat properly, the most I did  was walk down to a friend’s house, so maybe a total of half an hour walking. I guess that counts, but it feels like it shouldn’t, Day 6 felt like such a disappointment to me…

I’m going to try to turn things around and start again tomorrow morning. Here is my lit of things I can do that will give me a good start to the day:

  1. actually get up when my alarm goes off! I have been known to legitimately snooze my alarm for an hour and a half, not even because I’m tired but because bed is warm and comfortable. But it doesn’t set me up for a good day because I go into work later, I don’t have time to make a good breakfast and lunch, I don’t have time to put effort into my outfit, etc etc.
  2. On that note, put effort into myself! I always feel like I’m in a really good place to start my work day when I feel confident in how I look, I love putting together something nice to wear, doing my hair, and putting on makeup, but if I don’t wake up at a decent time, I never get to!
  3. Make a good breakfast. I’m pretty good at this, thank goodness, but it’s still the most important meal of the day
  4. Make a good lunch! I tend to prepare my lunch day-of. I know I should meal prep, but my weekends never seem to go quite as planned, so I’m never quite prepared.
  5. If you can, do yoga. My best work days have been ones where I’ve started the day of with just 10 minutes of yoga. It makes me feel more ready to take on my day, but again, sleeping in has caused me to lose that time and not be able to do it..

So, obviously I’ve pinpointed the source of my morning issues.

Let’s see if I can do it, especially when I’ve been so blaaaaaaaahhhhh this weekend.

Leave a Reply

