Day 2

Overall:

I think, like John Green, the hardest part of this whole thing is going to be keeping my eating on track. I mostly stuck to the plan today, but I fell down after work and binge-ate, so I’m going to not be too mad at myself for it, but I also recognize I can’t do that very often. Other than that, so far so good, I’m still firmly in the honeymoon stage of this adventure.

Exercise:

I went swimming, which is hands-down my favourite type of exercise (shoutout to my fantastic swim-buddy Nick).

My set was as follows:

(N. B. for those who aren’t swimmer types free=freestyle=front crawl, kick is just kicking with a flutterboard, and pull is just the arms)

100m free

100m free kick

100m free pull

100m free

4 x 25m free kick with flippers (surprisingly hard, but I loved it!)

4 x 25m free “six kick switch” (kick six times on one leg, then switch legs) with flippers

6 x 25m free pull with paddles (not a fan. This is a difficult one because you really have to watch your form, and I realized how off my form was. I think I’m going to avoid the paddles for a while until I’m more confident in my form because I know how easy it is to hurt yourself with it.

After all that I only had a short while left in the lane swim, so I did a few lengths of dolphin kick and one-arm butterfly with the flippers, which were exhilaratingly fast, and finished it all off with 50m fly. I struggled to get through that 50m even with flippers, so I’m going to make that my swimming goal, to do the 50 fly comfortably without flippers.

I also had a little dance party in my room after my shower, and to be honest, I’m counting it as exercise, it was a pretty intense dance party if I do say so myself!

Food:

Breakfast was on track, with lactose-free greek yogurt, strawberries and granola. Lunch was *almost* on track with kale and cucumber salad and a fibre one bar, but I managed to leave my drinkable yoghurt at home, which may have explained why I was so hungry when I got home from work.

After work I came home and felt like I needed to snack, so I turned to Chocolate Chex cereal. I mentioned earlier that this stuff is my weakness, so… I had two bowls, which finished the box. I think that this definitely hindered my swimming a bit, I can feel a big  difference between when I eat well and when I don’t.  I’ll also have to change up my meal plan a bit because that cereal was scheduled for later this week and it is already gone. I’m going to try to avoid buying the stuff in future, because I tell myself every time “I’ll make it last” and I don’t think I’ve ever made it last longer than a couple of days, which is a bit scary.

Dinner almost went off the rails too after, but I was saved by the fact that I had told the internet I was going to have a veggie burger so I might as well make the veggie burger. So, thank you internet! You are already helping me stay on top of things 🙂 I have a terrible tendency just to let the rest of a day go after one slip up, like the cereal binge, so I’m hoping this blog will keep me accountable and remind me that one slip-up isn’t the end of the world.

I’ve also realized I forgot to account for dessert in my meal-planning post! Personally, I feel like dessert is important, it’s good to reward yourself for a good dinner and a good day, and it’s also good not to starve yourself of things you love, especially if you’re fully capable of eating them in moderation. I don’t have dessert every day, but it’s nice to have it in sometimes. Because swimming is quite so late, I won’t be having dessert tonight, however I do have a lemon-meringue pie in the fridge for the future.

Thank you to all of the people who read and liked my posts yesterday! I’m really glad to see  you all 🙂 Goodnight for now!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

