allupinmyyarn is trying

It’s been a while.

There are all kinds of excuses, it’s been a rough year, I’ve been focusing on school, keeping Ravelry  updated has been more of a priority (except I haven’t done that either).

But really, I’ve just sort of let myself go, as a blogger, as a podcaster, as a person pretty much. So, I’m going to try to change that, I’ve been working on it for a while, but I figured having it all typed up would make me more accountable.

So, welcome to allupinmyyarn does 100Days. If you were looking for knitting, I’m sorry, this isn’t knitting. To be honest, I’ve lost my creative spark recently because I’ve been so far removed from myself, and from a functional human being. 100Days is about exercising and (hopefully) eating right. And from that, maybe I’ll get back the mojo, not just for knitting but for life in general!

It was inspired by the 100Days youtube channel with John Green, one of my absolute favourite YouTubers, and I wanted to do it because of the way he talks about it. Like John, my whole life I’ve felt like my body and my mind were at war, and that my body was just a thing I had to put up with so I could keep having my mind. I don’t remember a time in my life where I didn’t hate my body, for how I looked, for how crappy I felt, for how much my stomach hurt, etc. But through his exercise and eating journey, John realized that his body and mind were on the same side, they were both *him* and for me, that was revolutionary. So I figured I’d try it, no harm in it right? Hopefully I’ll pick up friends and exercise buddies along the way.

So, let’s get started!

Day 1:

My exercise drive only started at about 8:30pm today, and there was absolutely no way I was going outside in the dark. So this was all based on YouTube videos.

The first was a HIIT workout. I thought, seven minutes can’t be so bad, right? I was dead wrong, I honestly couldn’t keep up, and I think I struggled with literally every move. However, I still got my heart rate up and sweat buckets, so goal accomplished I guess. I’d love to try this again nearer the end to see what changed.

After that, I wanted a nice relaxing cool-down. I’m a massive fan of yoga, and I especially like Brett Larkin’s channel. This video is technically a morning routine, but I didn’t think I’d be able to do more than 10 minutes, so I went for it anyway. I struggled with this one too, but not as much, most of the issues were that my knees hurt against the mat in a lunge. A pad for my knees in these positions would be a good investment, and I’d like to try it with that because I feel like I’d fare better.

In terms of food, I… didn’t do a great job, but in my defence I wasn’t really thinking about it today. Breakfast was a Boost shake, which was a bit gross, but I had no other food in my house. Lunch was a kale salad and peanut butter on rice cakes was okay. Dinner was raw cauliflower and broccoli dipped in ranch, and a few greek potatoes. Snacks were.. excessive to be honest. I had a lot of Chocolate Chex cereal, which is a terrible weakness of mine and I shouldn’t have bought, and a chocolate bar. Around lunch I also had part of a PopTart.I’ll do better tomorrow!

The focus on this adventure is on acceptance, my body is a part of me, and I need to take care of it for me. I’m not going to be harsh on myself if I fall off the horse, or if I had a bad day, those things happen. However, I’ve found myself saying “oh it’s just a bad day” more and more, and I can’t say that every day. Because bad day’s are a good reason if they’re just that, days. But if it turns into weeks or even longer, something big needs to change. Which is why I’m here 🙂

That’s all for now, let’s see if I can actually keep this up. For once in my life I actually want to see something like this through, hopefully keeping a record of this will motivate me.

Leave a Reply

