The Yarns of Rhichard Devrieze

I think there are a lot of knitters that do this: hoard a yarn because it’s “too pretty to use.”

I finally gave in to temptation and used a yarn I’ve been “saving” for a while, and kicked myself for not using it sooner! 

   

This is The Yarns of Rhichard Devrieze, I’m using the worsted weight superwash merino in the colourway “The Times,” which I assume was designed to look like old newspaper. Stash page here for a pretty picture of it all skeined up.

The yarns are hand-dyed with a fantastic stippled effect, which I’m told is a hallmark of the brand, and quite honestly, that was about all I could find about them! The man behind the name is on ravelry, and I managed to hunt him down: he’s from Ontario, Canada! 

Anyway, the yarn is lovely, beautifully dyed, and the wool itself is bouncy and squishy and just a joy to knit with! I do have some mini skeins tucked away from the same dyer, so I’m hoping the fingering weight is just as delightful.

This yarn is being used in combination with Knit Picks Swish Worster (colour Bordeaux) in a test knit for designer Abbye Dahl (ravelry page here). It’s my first test knit, so I’m not sure how much I can say about it, but it’s called the Geo Toque and it looks fantastic! Some progress has been made today: 

  
The Bordeaux is much purpler in person, and the stippled yarn much more lovely, sometimes I regret not having a fancy camera that can capture this stuff better! 

The pattern is very intuitive so far, I definitely did more than I intended to today! (Impending midterm? What midterm?)

Little dragon stitch marker from Gloria Patre on Esty.

I’ll leave off with a lovely piece of music that makes the Star Wars nerd that lives in the depth of my soul sing

Speaking of Star Wars, I made a thing!

  
Ravelry project page here

2 thoughts on “The Yarns of Rhichard Devrieze

  1. Rhichard Devrieze

    What a surprise to see this piece in a Google search. I’m so glad you enjoyed the yarn and it looks so nice knit up with the semi-solid bordeaux. Heading to Ravelry to see more. Yes, I do know that I need to update my Ravelry page and get some of the patterns on there. Time, I need more time!

    P.S. Can I use the pictures on my social media pages ?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

