Tinkering with Mara

I remember the “Eureka!” moment when I found out that “tink” is just “knit” backwards. It should have been obvious, but it wasn’t, and I was great to learn the etymology, because I do it so often.

I’m making the Mara shawl by Madelinetosh. It’s another one of my secret projects, so I’m not going to say who for, and you only get a teeny teaser photo:

  
This pattern is beautiful, beautifully written, the pictures are beautiful, everything about it is just graceful.

I, however, am not.

Anyone who has made one knows it’s not a hard pattern to follow. Really the only complicated thing is the occasional yarn-over (kay I’m really not good with lace stitches. Don’t judge me). It’s mainly just plain old garter stitch, so my kind of knit.

And yet, I’ve been struggling, so much more than I should be. I’m blaming the fact that I’ve mostly made this on transit as I commute to and from work. 

But I’ve noticed mistakes and had to rip back twice. And because this is my first triangle shawl, I decided to tink back stitch by stitch to make sure I didn’t lose anything. (I’m not confident in my ripping back abilities…)

That’s a lot of stitches.

On the bright side, I find tinking quite meditative, so it hasn’t been the worst thing ever. 

When this lovely piece is done it will be used in two KAL submissions: 

Feel free to join me if you’ve got fall knits or WIPs or both! I think warm clothes when I think fall, and I also start to think about Christmas gifts, as evidenced!

Leave a Reply

