Gloomy Sunday

In the spirit of every good hangover, my day began with a breakfast of popcorn and marshmallows.

IMG_2208

Yesterday was the Wilfred Laurier University homecoming. It’s a bit like St. Patrick’s Day in terms of the partying. Why does a big Laurier party day affect a University of Waterloo student like myself you may ask? For one, I live in a house where I’m the only one who doesn’t go to Laurier, so our house was a zoo. And two… While we sort of have a homecoming, it’s not really a big thing, so why not use the Laurier one as an excuse. Anyway, I digress.

Today is the kind of day I just want to laze around and knit. And in some ways, it seemed like it was all lining up, and my gloomy, lazy day would happen. But alas, no.

In my previous post, there was a decent amount of chemistry in one of the pictures. Together with Statistics 202, it is conspiring against my knitting time.

So, basically, I have a lot of work to do, and I’m procrastinating hard.

Which, has effectively resulted in my a) getting and setting up a router so I can actually do internet at home:

IMG_2224

b) Knitting. Yeah, I know. Big surprise.

So, I’ll just do a brief rundown of all that has happened in the last month and a half:

1. I bought wool. I know I was on a stash kick, and I said I’d not do anymore wool buying until my stash was reduced, but I couldn’t help it! I was taken to Michael’s for the first time by a friend and I was enamoured with the cheap wool.. and I don’t have enough sock wool!

So, I’d like to make some stranded colourwork socks with the gold and burgundy wool, and possibly some stand-alone socks from the purple:

IMG_2215

I tried to get a good picture of the purple, but for some reason it always looks really blue in the pictures!

IMG_2217

Oh well.

I also bought *more* wool, nice stuff this time, I was introduced to Shall We Knit?, a wool shop not too far from my house, and they had their closet sale, in which I decided I needed lace weight yarn because I didn’t have any and wanted to try out lace. Apparently, I like grey lace.

IMG_2214 IMG_2213

I’m really excited to give these guys a try! Not sure what I’ll make yet, but I’m open to suggestions!

2. I began two new projects!

I began the Yarnspirations Mystery Scarf KAL, (project page here) which I’m so far just beginning the second clue of. Unfortunately I’ve just realized I made a mistake in the pattern, so I’ll likely take it back and fix it. I’m not sure what to think of this KAL, it’s kind of fun, and sort of relaxing, because I’m been doing the “easy” type, but I’m not all that in love with the product yet. We’ll see. Can you spot the mistake?

IMG_2205 IMG_2206

I’ve also begun another hat (surprise surprise), using the Zac’s Hat pattern, possibly for my friend Alex. I’m using a fancy pantsy teal wool from my stash, but I’m worried I wont have enough of it to finish the project! Fingers crossed! I’m also using the white Jaeger Michelle Mohair that has shown up in a couple of my other hats.

IMG_2209

I realized too late that I had no stitch markers with me, somehow I’ve left them all back home in Toronto, so I’m currently using a ring to hold the place.

I’ve made very little progress on anything else, school has been taking over my life, and I also haven’t been spending a lot of time in knitting-friendly places! But I’m hoping that the new development in internet might change that.

Also, if anyone is wondering about the reference in the title of this post, it’s a great ambient song, I like the version by Heather Nova (youtube link here). It’s not actually that gloomy, it’s just a little slow, my facilities aren’t quite back to normal yet!

Leave a Reply

