KNIT ALL THE THINGS!

So yesterday, while cleaning/packing, I gathered all of the knitting things I wanted to work on before I left for school (IN TWO DAYS. OH MAN. HOW.) and put them in a hat box. 

IMG_2135

This ultimately culminated in my seeing the things I had to do, and doing them. (This new spurt of organization was followed closely by a movie night, in which I finished all the things! But not really.)

So, basically, I have a couple of FO’s to share today, then we can get to the more exciting stuff:

FO#1: That Celtic Knot hat that I thought was going to be too big, and was afraid to finish in case it was.

IMG_2143 IMG_2142

IMG_2156 IMG_2157

It ended up with a lot of pictures… Actually, both my FO’s did. And I just loved that wooden lizard…

It didn’t end up being toooooooo big in the end, but I think it will be going to my friend Jackson and his large head as a birthday present. I tend not to do a swatch for hats, because I know a few people with some excessively large heads, so I know I can always pawn off too-big hats on them 🙂 I like this hat more than I expected to, in the end… But I’m not certain I will be making another one… Possibly with thinner wool next time, I have a shocking amount of light worsted/DK that I need to use up in the “Random Nameless Stash” section. 

FO#2: Zac’s Hat, take 2

 IMG_2144 IMG_2152

I’m slightly more taken with the colour combo now that I’ve seen this all knit up. But it’s still not my favourite… I’m a bit pushed for time before I leave for Waterloo, so I think this will no longer be Zac’s Hat, but Andy’s Hat. I feel comfortable doing this, as Zac’s Hat is just the name of the pattern. (For anyone who hasn’t been following, I’m using this hat as a thank-you-for-letting-me-sleep-on-your-couch gift)

And some more pictures of the hats on my balcony, just because:

IMG_2145 IMG_2146

And that’s all for the FOs! But wait, there’s more! My Winter Wonder Mitts have come out of hibernation!

IMG_2141

I think I realized too late that doing stranded colourwork during a movie might not have been the wisest decision, there was a lot of unpicking of stitches. Buuuuut, I got something done on it, which is nice, I had put these into hibernation because I thought they were going to be too big.. But, the lovely people on Ravelry have assured me that the cuff is supposed to be quite big, so I thought I’d continue. I think I may have had a tiny problem with the stitch count at some point, and one of the snowflakes has one extra bit, but it looks fine, and it’s a long way back to fix it, so I’m going to leave it, it’s the kind of mistake I can deal with. 

I really love the purple heathered wool I’m using as the main colour, but I’ve had a couple issues where it keeps breaking… I think there may have been some moth action at some point in its life… Confession, before I photographed it for this blog I stitched in a lot of the ends so that it would look nicer.

IMG_2139

And there are still more exciting things! This is turning out to be quite a long and varied post!

I was so enamoured with the Neveda Ilona I got a couple days ago that I actually went back to the thrift store to see if they had any more than had been donated. Sometimes the thrift store doesn’t put out all of the yarn they get, so I tend to check back in a couple of days to see if there’s more of the ones I like. And there was! In a different colourway, so no cardigan for me, but I’m excited about this one:

IMG_2137

I almost never knit in neutrals. I’m really a very jewel-tone kind of girl. But the sad thing is that the guys I knit for aren’t really as into the bright colours as I am. So I figured these would make some nice socks for one of them that they might actually wear. I liked it more and more as I wound one of the skeins into a ball (It was falling to pieces a bit in the skein, so I figured it was worthwhile.) I’m actually really excited to cast one some socks!

And oooooooonnnnnnne last thing: the stash cleanout. Oh yes, that happened yesterday. It’s always a painful time, and I’m never sure what to do. But sometimes it has to happen. When I was cleaning up, I found these guys:

IMG_2134

There are three skeins of Lion Brand Yarn Fishermen’s Wool in Oak Tweed, all 100% wool, and definitely a sweater’s worth in there, each of these babies has 465 yards (or 8oz) of wool, and they’ve never been touched. I think they’re roughly Aran weight, according to Ravelry. I don’t know when I got these, or why, but I’ve come to an impasse. I can’t make myself a sweater out of these. I’m very sensitive to pure wool, and I find I can’t wear pure wool sweaters for more than a minute before I get itchy and scratchy, and it’s just bad. So, I either get rid of them, or I make a sweater for someone else. Considering as I have yet to make a sweater for myself, it seems really unlikely that I’ll be making one for someone else anytime soon… meaning I might have to get rid of them. So, I’m  considering doing a giveaway on this blog. I know I don’t have a lot of readers, But I figured it might be worth a try. Stay tuned for that later today!

Leave a Reply

